Rex Omar Re-Elected As GHAMRO Board Chairman

The Ghana Music Rights Organization (GHAMRO) saw its previous Board members relieved of their duties at the end of their four-year tenure of office.

However, an electoral committee, which was put together during a general meeting in October 2020 failed to organize elections on time. This created a vacuum in succession and resulted in the need for that electoral committee to be dissolved.

Consequently, the Directors drew on Section 4.7 of the GHAMRO Constitution and appointed a five members Election Committee made up of Augustina Addison (Chairperson), Eric Afriyie, Haruna Sungumo Abdul-Aziz, Seth Kwaku Amponsah and Kwabena Donkor Jethro on Monday April 26th, 2021 in order to provide a Board for the Society on or by the 20th of May 2022.

Legal turmoil ensued during this period. An interlocutory injunction was filed against the outfit to restrain them from conducting Board elections on February 9th 2022. The lawyers of both sides were engaged in a lengthy and cumbersome back and forth tussle of motions until finally, the court dismissed the case in favor of GHAMRO, enabling them hold elections for their society.

On the 15th of May, 2022, the stage was set for the commencement of elections. There were ten centres in operation on that day: Members in Brong Ahafo, Ashanti, Central, Volta and Northern Regions voted at the Centre for National Culture in their respective capitals. Voters in Accra cast their ballots at CIBT, those in Western Region at Melody Hotel – Takoradi, those in Oti at Good Morning Hotel – Kpasa, those in Upper East at Asongetaaba – Bolgatanga and those in Upper West at Royal Lodge Hotel – Wa.

Voting was conducted by the Electoral Commission of Ghana with the supervision of the Ghamro’s Election Committee. The successful elections began at 8:30 AM and lasted till 3:00 PM at all centres.

The candidates for the elections were put into four groups as outlined in Section 4.2 of the GHAMRO Constitution and are as follows:

Kwakye Kwabena Kabobo
Kwame Adinkra
Oheneba Kissi
Diana Hopeson
Kofi Abraham
Rex Owusu Marfo

John Mensah Sarpong
Benjamin Mensah
Francis Omari Adofo

Benny Wood Ruthy
George Ofori Atta
Elizabeth Tagoe
Yaw Agyemang-Badu

Ernest Kwesi Ennin
Francis Boahene

When all was said and done and the votes cast were collated and counted, the results were as follows:

Kwakye Kwabena Kabobo 113 votes
Kwame Adinkra 84 votes
Oheneba Kissi 116 votes
Diana Hopeson 370 votes ELECTED
Kofi Abraham 359 votes ELECTED
Rex Owusu Marfo 343 votes ELECTED

John Mensah Sarpong 91 votes
Benjamin Mensah 43 votes
Francis Omare Adofo 332 votes ELECTED

Benny Wood Ruthy 117 votes
George Ofori Atta 53 votes
Elizabeth Tagoe 338 votes ELECTED
Yaw Agyemang-Badu 360 votes ELECTED

Ernest Kwesi Ennin 109 votes
Francis Boahene 349 votes ELECTED

In collaboration with the Electoral Commission of Ghana, results collated and declared the 2022 GHAMRO BOARD ELECTED as follows:

Diana Hopeson Composer
Kofi Abraham Composer
Rex Owusu Marfo Composer
Francis Omare Adofo Publisher
Elizabeth Tagoe Performer
Yaw Agyemang-Badu Performer
Francis Boahene Producer

The newly elected seven (7) member board were sworn into office by a High Court Judge, Her lordship Justice Hafisata Amaleboba (Mrs) on the 23 March 2022 at the GHAMRO Board Room for the commencement of their four (4) years term which will end in 2026.

Per article 4.2.2 of the Ghamro’s constitution, the board balloted to elect the leadership which four persons contested for the positiosns of Chairperson and Vice Chairperson respectively as follows:

Diana Hopeson got one vote (1)
Rex Owusu Marfo (Rex Omar) got six votes (6 ) – Elected

Vice Chairperson:
Francis Omare Adofo got five votes (5) – Elected
Francis Boahene got one vote (1) and one person abstained (1)

Therefore, for the records, Mr. Rex Owusu Marfo (Rex Omar) and Francis Omari Adofo were duly elected as Chairman and Vice respectively.

The GHAMRO Election Committee wishes to congratulate the membership, aspirants, the Ghana Police Service, and the National Electoral Commission for their turnout, courage, support and assistance in ensuring a successful peace-themed election. GHAMRO Pay before play.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *